Frequently Asked Questions
- Can I receive a cannabis delivery to my college dorm?
Currently, no. Most colleges have policies against cannabis possession and use. Hytiva does not deliver to dorms for this reason.
Please see the following example from the University of Nevada Las Vegas policies, as one instance of this, but many colleges have similar policies:
Nevada state law permits the use, possession, and cultivation of medical marijuana. However, federal law prohibits use, possession, and/or cultivation of marijuana in educational institutions and other recipients of federal funds. Therefore, the use, possession, and/or cultivation of medical marijuana is prohibited on the UNLV campus, including in university housing facilities, even if a student, faculty, or staff member possess a Medical Marijuana Registry identification card under Nevada state law.
- Can I take cannabis on the plane?
If you are following the law then you can't take your cannabis on the plane. Even if you travel from Nevada to a state where cannabis is legal, you are subject to federal law when you cross state borders, enter airspace, and enter the airport.
McCarran airport provides "Amnesty Boxes", these bins are about the size of a mailbox, bolted to the ground, monitored and designed to keep any cannabis that's tossed inside of them.
You will hear plenty of stories about people flying all over the country with cannabis products in their carry-on. It is not recommended. When you want more, just come back to Vegas!
- What do I need in order to get medical marijuana?
Two things are required to get medical marijuana:
- A valid and current Nevada medical marijuana recommendation from a physician.
- Proof of residency in the state of Nevada.
You can always purchase your cannabis as a recreational consumer. Having a medical card reduces sales tax, allows you access to medical strength products, and gets you to the front of the line at the dispensary.
- What are the approved medical conditions for Medical Marijuana use in the state of Nevada?
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Cachexia (wasting / malnutrition)
- Persistent muscle spasms
- Seizures Severe
- Who can purchase medical marijuana?
To purchase medical marijuana as a medical patient you must be a current cardholder or a caregiver.
As of July 1, 2017 anyone over age 21 can purchase cannabis from a dispensary without any medical certification.
- Can I use a Nevada medical marijuana card in other states?
That is state dependent. Currently, Arizona, Delaware, Maine, Michigan, Hawaii, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island accept patient cards from other states.
However, each state has its own unique restrictions. Arizona, for example, accepts other states' medical cannabis cards as valid but does not allow out-of-state residents to enter dispensaries.
It's best to call ahead before you go to find out what the rules are for your particular destination.
- Can patients still grow their own marijuana?
Yes, but there are restrictions:
You can grow up to 6 plants at a time and have up to 12 plants in your possession.
You have to live more than 25 miles from a dispensary.
You can only possess amounts up to what your 6 plants provide you from flowering. The one ounce possession rule applies to purchased weed.
You can give away your excess cannabis but you cannot sell it.
You must be at least 21 years old.
Follow these rules and you can enjoy your own sea of green.
- Can people use medical marijuana cards from other states in Nevada?
Yes. Patients who have a medical cannabis card from any other state can purchase cannabis from Nevada dispensaries as a medical patient. Advantages include reduced sales tax and faster service since medical patients are given preference at the front of the line.
- How much marijuana can a patient buy?
Medical and Recreational consumers can possess up to one ounce of flower or up to 1/8 ounce of concentrate a day.
However medical patients can posses up to 2 and a half ounces of flower on their person and recreational consumers can only posses 1 ounce of flower.
- Can patients use marijuana anywhere?
No. Medical marijuana can’t be used in public places.
Public consumption of cannabis brings with it a misdemeanor charge and fines up to $600.
- Can workers use medical marijuana on the job? Do employers need to make special accommodations for people with medical marijuana cards?
Nevada’s medical marijuana law does not currently provide workplace protections for cannabis consumers. However, legislators are looking at possible changes.
Check with your human relations department at work or your employment manual to see if there are restrictions on cannabis for your job.
Even if your employer does not test for cannabis, exercise good judgment. If you would not try to do your job drunk you probably won't want to do it high.
- Will my employers, insurance companies, or other people be able to find out I have a medical marijuana card?
Not unless you tell them. Medical marijuana card registrations will be stored in a database that dispensaries and law enforcement can access to verify whether someone is licensed. Aside from those entities no one else will know if you have a card or not.
- When did recreational marijuana become legalized?
Recreational adult use marijuana was overwhelmingly approved by Nevada citizens on the November 2016 ballot. The recreational use market opened ahead of schedule on July 1st, 2017. Dispensaries around Las Vegas are serving both medical and recreational customers daily.
- Can patients send marijuana through the mail?
No. Since marijuana it is outlawed on the federal level, shipping medical marijuana through the U.S. Postal Service is illegal even if you have a card.
Penalty for shipping cannabis across state lines starts for a first offense at no more than 5 years in prison for amounts under 50 grams. As amounts go up, sentences increase.
In short, it's just not worth it. Come to Vegas, enjoy your cannabis, and rather than ship some home, just come back to Vegas again!
- Can patients travel with marijuana?
You can possess up to one ounce of cannabis in flower form within the Nevada border. Or you can possess up to 1/8 ounce concentrate product.
You cannot be under the influence of cannabis while driving. We suggest you simply plan ahead to use taxis or some other convenient form of transportation. It's not worth the risk driving stoned in a city you're not familiar with.
Be aware: as soon as you cross the Nevada state line with marijuana in your possession you are subject to federal law related to drug possession as well as the laws of the state you are entering. Traveling out of state with marijuana, even when legally purchased, is not recommended.
- Will medical marijuana be covered by insurance?
No. The Federal Drug Administration has to approve marijuana for use before insurance companies can cover it.
Since cannabis is still classified as a Schedule I controlled substance by the FDA it is unlikely it will approved for insurance company reimbursement.
In July 2017 the U.S. House of Representatives overwhelmingly passed legislation that would allow Veterans' Administration doctors to recommend cannabis as a method of treatment for veterans in states where medical marijuana is legal.
The Senate rejected the measure.